To be eligible for federal funds ($1,000 Hiring and Retention Bonus GrantNJ ARP Stabilization Grant and 2022 Summer Youth Camp Grant) you must comply with training requirements set forth by Child Care Development Block Grant Reauthorization (CCDBG). You must complete these trainings, even if you do not accept, or plan to accept, state subsidies.

The NJ Department of Children and Families, Office of Licensing has different requirements from CCDBG. For example, you may have two staff in your center who have already completed the First Aid and Pediatric CPR Training for licensing. But in order to receive this grant, you must comply with CCDBG training requirements, which requires that all directors and caregivers/teaching staff complete First Aid and Pediatric CPR Training. 

Below are the training requirements you must comply with to receive grant funds.

 

________________________________


In New Jersey, all child care and early learning programs that accept, or wish to accept, child care subsidies must comply with the requirements set forth by Child Care Development Block Grant Reauthorization (CCDBG). This includes completing the following CCDBG-required trainings. These trainings are required for all licensed or registered programs including center-based programs, home-based programs and summer youth camps.

Home-based providers (this includes family child care and family, friend and neighbor care) have additional requirements. These additional requirements for home-based providers are listed below.

If you repeat the training modules for CCDBG required training, you will not receive additional training hours or a new certificate. Staff transitioning from school year care to summer care or vice versa are not required to repeat CCDBG required training requirements.

New Jersey’s CCDBG trainings are required to be completed once. These are foundational and provide basic information on health and safety. You are encouraged to take progressive training that will provide information that builds on this basic knowledge of health and safety and enhances your own professional development.

Health, Safety and Child Growth and Development: Basic Requirement for Licensing

Hours: 8 hours

Cost: Free

Description: This training provides an overview of the nine required health and safety topics as well as covering basic child development information required by the Child Care Development Block Grant (CCDBG). Participants will access important health and safety information and resources, view and reflect upon videos and animations, engage in interactive activities, complete quick knowledge checks, and make plans to apply what they've learned in their work with infants, toddlers, preschoolers, or school-age children.

How to take this training: This training is available through the NJ Workforce Registry. Log in to your NJCCIS account and search for "Health, Safety, and Child Growth and Development: Basic Requirement for Licensing".

Weekly cohorts are offered and participants will have two weeks to complete the course. In addition to the online training, this training is also available at the local county-based CCR&R either in person or “live” virtually. Please visit www.NJCCIS.com for additional offerings from the CCR&Rs.

Additional Information: This training has evolved over the years, if you took any of the trainings listed below you do not need to retake this training:
  • Health and Safety Basics: Requirements for Certification - Better Kid Care
  • New Jersey Child Care Subsidy Health and Safety Training - Better Kid Care
  • NJ Health and Safety Basics: Birth to Preschool - Better Kid Care
  • NJ Health and Safety Basics: School Age and Summer Camp
  • NJ Básicos de Salud y Seguridad: Nacimiento a Edad Preescolar (NJ Health and Safety Basics: Birth to Preschool)
  • NJ Básicos de Salud y Seguridad: Edad Escolar y Campamento de Verano (NJ Health and Safety Basics: School Age and Summer Camp)

 

Identifying Child Abuse and Neglect: Mandated Reporting in Early Childhood Education

Hours: 2 hours

Cost: Free

Description: Step-by-Step Instructions (en español). Topics include child abuse and neglect, discipline, mandated reporting, and child maltreatment. There is no registration required to take this training - in order for you to receive credit you must complete the Attendance Confirmation Form on the last slide of the training. There are WARNINGS about this feature in the first few slides of the training, at the end of the training and in the instruction guides above. If you have any issues accessing the training, you may contact: [email protected].

How to take this training: Available online Opens in new window (en español). Once you complete and submit the attendance confirmation form you will receive an email confirming your completion. This will take the place of a certificate. If you provided your NJ Workforce Registry ID# in the form, your certificate will be uploaded into the system within 2-3 weeks. The training platform is compatible with Mozilla Firefox or Google Chrome and can be completed on your PC, tablet or phone. Do not use Internet Explorer. In addition to the online training, this training is also available at the local county-based CCR&R either in person or “live” virtually.

First Aid and Pediatric CPR Training

Hours: Varies

Cost: Varies

Description: Topics include First Aid and Pediatric Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (CPR). Child care center staff have the option to attend a First Aid/Pediatric CPR training course offered through their local CCR&R or attend/hire a certified trainer/vendor. The trainer/vendor must be certified by a recognized health organization. The Pediatric CPR training course must offer a hands-on skills practice. Examples of a few of the recognized health organizations are: American Safety and Health Institute, American Red Cross, and the American Heart Association.

How to take this training: First Aid and Pediatric CPR training is usually offered in person. However, during the public health crisis, hybrid models may be available. Contact your local CCR&R or authorized training vendor for more information.

Additional Home-Based Program Requirements (for Subsidy Only)

All home-based providers (FCC and FFN) must complete the above required training as well as completing the following:
 
1. Orientation Training 2-hour training. Available at your local CCR&R. Topics include Office of Licensing (OOL) policy review, Business Practices, and Program Management;
2. Complete items needed to meet CCDBG reauthorization;
Begin application for FCC Registration (if applicable);
Complete the required Health and Safety Training Topics as listed above; and
Complete FCC Registration including home inspection.

If you have questions or need additional information, contact your local CCR&R.

Technical Assistance from the Child Care Health Consultants

Child Care Health Consultants Flyer English and SpanishChild Care Health Consultants are available to assist licensed child care centers and registered family child care providers. Providers that accept the NJ Child Care Subsidy Program and/or that are enrolled in Grow NJ Kids will be given priority.

Our virtual services include:

  • Training on advanced health and safety topics include keeping healthy in child care during the COVID-19 pandemic, safe medication administration, child safety and injury prevention, food allergies, special diets and feeding issues, working with children with special needs and more.
  • Health and safety informational huddles on child health and safety topics.
  • Technical assistance and consultations including online consultations on best practice standards of health and safety in child care, assistance with the implementation of COVID-19 guidance and assistance with the development of policies and procedures, personal care routines, immunization and health records.
  • Providing health and safety resources and referrals.


For more information and to register log into your NJCCIS account and use the advanced search to search by “Training Agency” - select “Central Jersey Family Health Consortium”

To get targeted technical assistance, contact: Central Jersey Family Health Consortium
1-888-999-1780 or [email protected]