Skip to section

General Information

Guidance for Parents

If you need help paying for child care, you can apply for the state’s Child Care Subsidy Program. To give you a sense of whether you would be eligible for the Child Care Subsidy Program, the income maximum for a family of four is $53,000 annually. Use our calculator to see if you are likely to be eligible. If you need help finding child care, contact your local Child Care Resource and Referral (CCR&R) Agency. For more information on updated health and safety standards for child care, visit the Department of Children and Families website Opens in new window

The American Rescue Plan (ARP) Act provides many sources of direct and indirect financial relief for families with low incomes. This factsheet provides information for child care programs and partner organizations about different ARP Act financial sources and the steps that providers and families can take to access each source. Download the Factsheet

2021 Child Tax Credit
Low-income families with children are eligible for this crucial tax relief – including those who have not made enough money to be required to file taxes. If a couple makes under $24,800, a head of household makes under $18,650, or a single filer makes under $12,400, and they have not filed their taxes, there is a simple, easy tool to sign up for the Child Tax Credit, just visit   Download the Factsheet English/Spanish

Guidance for Children

You know your children best. Let their questions be your guide as to how much information to provide. However, don’t avoid giving them the information that health experts identify as critical to ensuring your children’s health. Be patient; children and youth do not always talk about their concerns readily. Watch for clues that they may want to talk, such as hovering around while you do the dishes or yard work. It is very typical for younger children to ask a few questions, return to playing, then come back to ask more questions.   

Guidance for Providers

Governor Murphy’s signing of Executive Order No. 149 Opens in new window reopened child care centers in the state of New Jersey beginning June 15, 2020. The New Jersey Department of Children and Families released specific operating guidance for centers in order to preserve the health and safety of children, staff and the families being served. For more information on updated health and safety standards for child care, visit the Department of Children and Families website Opens in new window. The NJ Department of Health also has released guidance for reopening child care, this guidance document Opens in new window outlines public health recommendations and does not supersede requirements set forth by DCF.

The NJ Department of Children and Families (DCF) is continuing to monitor the spread of the COVID-19 Coronavirus and its impact on children, families, our staff and our partner providers, throughout the state. The federal Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and NJ Department of Health are providing ongoing guidance and direction regarding necessary precautions and action plans. The experts agree that Coronavirus prevention strategies are similar to what we do to prevent the flu:

  • Wash your hands in soap and water, regularly
  • Cover your coughs and sneezes with a tissue or your elbow
  • Avoid touching your face, mouth and eyes
  • If you are feeling unwell, stay home and rest

More resources for licensed child care centers is available on the DCF website

Guidance for New Jersey Child Care Programs on COVID-19 Related Health and Safety Requirement Implementation
Updated guidance will be posted shortly | Additional Resources Opens in new window

This implementation guide was created by the Department of Human Services in collaboration with the Child Care Health Consultants, Department of Children and Families and other key stakeholders. The purpose of this implementation guide is to provide additional information, resources, and support related to the health and safety requirements. Note that the guidance in this document does not supersede New Jersey state requirements, but instead provides best practices for implementation. There are frequent updates to health and safety guidelines and regulations regarding COVID-19. The PDF posted here will be updated as necessary.

Quality Initiatives Funded Through DHS/DFD

Click for informational flyer for Covid-19 Resources and Support in New Jersey If you are providing child care services during this time, you are not alone! Support and resources are available through the joint efforts of the following organizations:

  • Social-Emotional Health Resources from Montclair State University
  • Heath and Safety Resources from Central Jersey Family Health Consortium  
  • Resource for School-Age Providers from NJSACC The Statewide Network for New Jersey’s Afterschool Communities

 See the flyer for full details on how to access these initiatives Opens in new window.

NJ Health and Safety Videos and Resources

National Webinars and Resources

There are many national resources available to support best practices on implementing care in response to COVID-19.  Please visit the links below for more information. 


Back to top of page

Upcoming Webinars

No webinars scheduled at this time.