Coronavirus (COVID-19) Information

​Governor Murphy’s signing of Executive Order No. 149 Opens in new window reopened child care centers in the state of New Jersey beginning June 15. The New Jersey Department of Children and Families released specific operating guidance for centers in order to preserve the health and safety of children, staff and the families being served. For more information on updated health and safety standards for child care, visit the Department of Children and Families website Opens in new window. The NJ Department of Health also has released guidance for reopening child care, this guidance document Opens in new window outlines public health recommendations and does not supersede requirements set forth by DCF.

There are many types of child care and early learning providers in New Jersey.

These include:
  • Licensed Child Care Centers
  • Registered Family Child Care Homes
  • Approved Homes
  • Public and Private Schools
  • Summer Youth Camps

The Department of Human Services, Division of Family Development (DHS/DFD) is committed to increasing access to high-quality programs across the state. Providers who are interested in participating in the Child Care Subsidy Program are required to be licensed, regulated, registered or approved, meet DHS/DFD requirements to qualify for funding and are required to comply with the requirements under the federal law Opens in new window.

For more information on accepting child care subsidies, visit the Child Care Subsidy Program Requirements and CCDBG page. 


Back to top of page