Skip to section


Licensed Child Care Center

This facility is approved by the state Office of Licensing (OOL) for the care, development and supervision of six or more children under 13 years of age who are in care for less than 24 hours a day. Centers that are accredited by a national association are programs that have been recognized as high-quality programs. Centers participating in Grow NJ Kids, NJ's Quality Rating and Improvement System, are programs participating in quality activities to continuously improve their program to meet higher quality standards beyond licensing standards.
Back to top of page

Licensed-Exempt Provider

This is a facility that is deemed exempt from licensing regulation and not regulated by the Office of Licensing, such as:
  • Programs operated by the local public school districts, which are responsible for the implementation and management
  • Private schools which are solely run for educational purposes offering elementary education in grades kindergarten through, 6th, 7th or 8th and their kindergarten, pre-kindergarten or a child care center are an integral part of the private educational institution or system.
Back to top of page

Registered Family Child Care Provider

This is a provider who cares for no more than five children at any one time in his or her home and has received an initial, renewal or temporary Certification of Registration demonstrated to the satisfaction of the sponsoring organizations (Child Care Resource and Referral Agencies) and Office of Licensing.   
Back to top of page

Family, Friend, Neighbor Provider

This provider is an individual who has been evaluated and approved by the NJ Division of Family Development (DFD) or its designee and serves no more than two unrelated children for fewer than 24 hours of care per day.
Back to top of page

In-Home

These are individuals who have been evaluated and approved by DFD or its designee to care for the child in their own home for fewer than 24 hours of care per day.
Back to top of page

Summer Youth Camps

Summer Youth camps are licensed under the Youth Camp Safety Act of New Jersey and possess a certificate issued by the New Jersey Department of Health and provide services wholly or in part for recreational and educational purposes to five or more children under the age of 18.
Back to top of page
 

Child Care Assistance Program for Low-Income Families

Child Care Assistance Program

New Jersey's Child Care Assistance Program is designed to support and help low- to moderate-income families afford child care services. These services are administered locally through the Child Care Resource and Referral (CCR&Rs) agencies. Families employed (30 hours per week) or in an education/training program (12 credits/20 classroom hours) or a combination employment, education/training program equivalent to full time that meets program eligibility requirements determined by the CCR&Rs, may be eligible.

What kinds of providers can I use?

Center-based child care providers, school-based providers, family child care providers, home-based or in-home child care providers, or summer youth camps that are licensed, regulated, registered or approved under applicable state or local law and that satisfy local requirements including health and safety requirements applicable to the child care services it provides, in addition to the Child Care Block Grant Reauthorization (CCDBG) Act 2014 federal law.  

Social Service Programs with Child Care Components

The social service programs listed below include a child care component. To receive child care through them you must already be participating in one of these programs. You cannot apply for just the child care alone.
  • Child Protective Services (CPS)
  • Kinship Child Care
  • Work First New Jersey (WFNJ) - cash assistance
  • Transitional Child Care (for former WFNJ recipients)
  • Post Adoption Child Care
Back to top of page

Early Learning Programs for Young Children

Early Head Start

Provides comprehensive early childhood development programs serving low-income pregnant women and children from ages birth to 3 and their families.

Head Start

Promotes the school readiness of young children through agencies in their local community for low-income families and children ages 3 to 5.

State Pre-K

Free preschool early learning and education programs for 3- and 4-year-olds are available in 25 school districts.

Special Services School Districts

These districts provide options for preschool students with special needs and were developed to address the educational and developmental needs of children ages 3 to 5. Typically, these districts are comprised of three types of classes: classes that educate 4-year-old students who have special needs in the same classroom as those students who do not have special needs; preschool classes for students with Individualized Educational Programs and the need for smaller group sizes and more individualized programming; and classes with highly specialized instruction for students with autism and students with hearing impairments.

Licensed Preschool Programs

Licensed early learning preschool programs provide early childhood education and care for children ages 6 weeks to 5 years.

Information on Additional Support Services and Resources is available on our Resources Page

9/15/21

Back to top of page

Printable checklist to use when looking for a child care or early learning program